What Are The Minimum Car Insurance Requirements In Florida?
Under Florida’s No-fault Act, Florida drivers are only required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage (PD). Personal Injury Protection affords medical benefits for expenses incurred from automobile accidents; such as, emergency room visit, diagnostic studies, physical therapy sessions, physician consultations and loss wages. Typical, Personal Injury Protection affords $10,000 in medical benefits with a $1,000 deductible. Property damage applies to complainant’s vehicle repair, which is typically $10,000 coverage.
Despite these requirements, there are a lot of uninsured and underinsured drivers in our state, probably more than most other states when you consider the number of transient drivers, like tourists and visitors. Despite this, it is our understanding that at least 20 percent of drivers in Florida do not carry uninsured or underinsured coverage policies, which is higher than most other states.
What Rights To Compensation Do I Have If I Get in an Accident with an Uninsured or Underinsured Driver?
It is critical to obtain professional legal representation such when you are involved in automobile accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist. You have the right to pursue a claim for bodily injuries and vehicle damages. Our firm specializes in these types of matters; we have an experience team of investigators and staff to determine whether there exist insurance coverages on behalf of our clients.
If I was at Fault and the Other Party is Uninsured, What Happens?
We cannot stress enough to seek legal counsel after an automobile accident. We have often represented clients who were cited for automobile accidents; then, found the other party either at fault or assessed comparative negligence allowing us to obtain a recovery on behalf of our clients. Often automobile accidents are never truly black and white. We find there are usually mitigating circumstances, such as the speed of the other vehicle, whether the other driver was distracted using a cell phone, texting or not paying attention to the roadway. You need an advocate to look into every accident.
Does Florida Require Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Florida does not require uninsured motorist coverage. In the state of Florida only personal injury protection and property damage coverages are required.
For more information on Minimum Auto-Insurance In Florida, a free consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you’re seeking by calling (305) 985-7800 today.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (305) 985-7800